top of page

Cheating Lens-Incompatibility On a Nikon Coolpix P530

So here I was with a begginers camera, which I found(contrary to other online opinions) had a pretty good zoom quality. Sure it is hard to get a perfectly clear image with a wiggling hand-held camera from 50 feet away but it is not totally impossible. There were plenty of ways to clear up the blur- one way which is common is to use a good solid tripod but ya know, even then- pressing down the shutter can create that minute camera shake you don't want- and so maybe a two second timed shot can guarentee more clarity :)

I am a feign for figuring out lots of ways to defy a lack of options and wanted to fix another problem I faced with my Nikon Coolpix P530. The lack of lens compatibility.

You may come across a lens on Amazon or other sites that suggests it can latch itself on to the camera- which I fell for but when it came I found that it actually attached to the portion of the camera the encases the zoom lens- which meant that, when I zoomed in, I could only go so far before hitting the lens. :( bummer.

BUT! I didn't feel totally convinced that this was impossible. I shopped around a bit more after measuring the diameter of the zoom lens and decided to try out a step-up lens set which connects from 55-58mm, 58-62mm, 62-67mm, 67-72mm (which is the size I ordered all of my lenses for since that was the first adapters size) 72-77mm and up to 77-82mm.

I found that the 55-58mm adapter ring fit quite nicely to the edge of the rim on my zoom lens and as the coolpix had no screw-in feature to the zoom lens- I superglued the adapter to the rim of the zoom lens.. and wouldn't ya know... IT DID THE TRICK!

Now I am free to order and use a lens of ANY diameter listed above :) PLUS, my lens cover still fits! and the 55-58mm adapter which is now a permanent part of my cameras body does not get disturbed at all when I turn off the camera and the lens retracts all the way back.

Happy art lensing at full zoom for me!!!

bottom of page